Dark mode

KEiNO Mobile Workforce in use in Oulu's social emergency services

In July, 2020, the Oulu region will move to an even wider social emergency service outside office hours. In order to clarify the work between municipalities, the municipalities developed a mobile application for recording work together with the University of Oulu and KEiNO.

The welfare services of the City of Oulu say that a mobile application for professionals is needed for statistics on work done in different municipalities and later also for municipal invoicing.

KEiNO was selected as the implementer from nine proposals received from companies. The application was developed remotely in the midst of a coronavirus pandemic.

The trial of the application started at the beginning of June and the testing phase for the use of the staff started on June 29th. The tool is developed based on the experiences of on-call staff.

-Marja Salonen, the head of the social emergency service, and Mira Takkinen, a social worker, are an important part of the joint development and selection process. "All social emergency services act as testers as part of their social emergency work tasks" Jaana Kokko, a technology expert at the City of Oulu's welfare services, praises in the press release.

Martti Wallasvaara, CEO of  KEiNO, says that the same components used by the social worker on a home visit to record work data in the future have been used in the past, for example, to record goals in the Singapore floorball league.

From July, regional social and crisis emergency services will be organized jointly in the areas of Oulu, Kempele, Lumijoki, Tyrnävä, Muhos, Liminga, Hailuoto and the Oulunkaari municipality, ie Utajärvi, Pudasjärvi, Vaala, Simon and Ii.

The experiment in social emergency services was carried out in co-operation between the City of Oulu's welfare services, the University of Oulu's Faculty of Medicine and KEiNO. The experiment was a part of CoHeWe - Co-created Health and Wellbeing project, which is part of the 6Aika entity and is a joint project of the cities of Oulu, Tampere, Helsinki and Vantaa.